✦ Keep It Simple #10

Quality time - Make me feel fulfilled?

Hello,

This week on Instagram, I shared my contemplation on the quality of time. It's a notion that consistently crosses my mind whenever I find myself fully immersed in an activity, feeling fulfilled for dedicating my attention and time to something I've committed to do.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the role the work plays in our fulfillment as human beings.

  • What are we pursuing in life?

  • What are we pursuing in work?

  • Where are those objectives are aligned or out of sync?

  • And further, what do we do with all that?

I've been thinking a lot about how work makes us feel fulfill and happy as people.

  • What are we trying to achieve in life?

  • What about in our jobs?

  • Do those goals match up or are they different?

  • And what do we do with all of that?

Since I'm feeling pretty good about both my job and my life right now, I'm lucky to think about this from a positive point of view.

I took some time to think: How does work make me feel fulfilled?

There are two main ways my job helps me follow my bigger purpose in life.

First, my job fits with what I believe in and what I want to do with my life.

I think that what I do at work lets me achieve part of what I want to do while I'm alive. That's why I really want it to go well. I see myself in the work I do and the results it brings. Plus, I learn things that matter to me and get better at skills that are important to me.

Work itself feels like it has a purpose and meaning. This deep love for my job makes me feel really satisfied.

Second, not only do I feel satisfied by my job, but it also gives me time to feel satisfied in other ways. Sure, I work hard.

Sometimes, I spend entire days just working, starting early and finishing late. But I've noticed that in the long run, I have time for everything I enjoy. Besides work, there's time for family, friends, being part of the community, exercise, hobbies, taking care of everyday stuff, having fun, traveling, sleeping, resting, and just being me.

Maybe every day doesn't have all these things, but over time, it all balances out. This means that not only do I feel satisfied when I'm working, but my job also lets me feel satisfied outside of work too. Being able to have a rich life like this is the second link between my job and feeling satisfied.

My invitation today is to think about it... Does your job make you feel fulfilled? Where do you fit in with all of this? 🌱

Enjoy the read.

Perfect Balance 👌

Finding the perfect balance between work, personal life, and fulfillment is an ongoing process that requires awareness, practice, and commitment. Balancing all these demands goes beyond action; it requires action with presence, intention, and purpose.

As leaders, we can lead by example and create an environment that promotes this quality of time, regardless of how much time, but focused on its quality.

In a world where the line between work and personal life often becomes blurred, finding the perfect quality between these areas is essential for well-being and success. As leaders, we are often challenged to maintain this presence not only in our own lives but also to help our team do the same.

And for this, the challenge lies in balancing the quality of time between work, personal life, and fulfillment.

Work-Life Balance: The Art of Juggling ⚖️

The concept of work-life balance revolves around maintaining a clear distinction between work and personal life. This philosophy suggests treating each of these aspects as distinct entities, each with its own boundaries and demands.

People who support work-life balance say that by setting clear rules about how much time and effort you put into work, you can avoid feeling exhausted, reduce stress, and have a happier personal life.

The good things about work-life balance are clear. It encourages you to take breaks from work, spend quality time with family and friends, and do things for yourself that help you relax and feel good. This way of doing things can give you a break from a tough job. But, it's important to know that sticking too strictly to this idea might make you feel like you're not as connected to your work, which could make it harder to reach your long-term goals and grow personally.

Work-Life Fulfillment: A Holistic Approach 🌀

Work-life fulfillment, on the other hand, takes a more integrated approach. It suggests that rather than separating work and personal life, individuals should aim to align their personal values, passions, and goals with their professional pursuits.

The key to work-life fulfillment is finding a career that not only pays the bills but also brings a sense of purpose and satisfaction. In this model, work becomes an integral part of one's life rather than an external imposition.

The benefits of work-life fulfillment are significant. When your work aligns with your passions and values, it can lead to a greater sense of purpose and personal growth. Instead of dividing life into "work" and "life," the two become intertwined in a way that fosters personal development, creativity, and a deeper sense of meaning. This approach often results in increased job satisfaction, higher productivity, and a more profound sense of well-being.

So, which approach is the right one?

It's important to understand that there isn't a one-size-fits-all answer. The ideal work-life balance or work-life fulfillment varies for each person depending on their individual preferences, values, and circumstances.

Here are some valuable strategies for leaders to cultivate a healthy balance between work, personal life, and fulfillment

  • 🎯 Know your value: Try to spend some time thinking about what is important to you in life. Consider your passions and interests, and make time for the things that make you feel alive. How much time do you really spend on your priorities?

  • ⏳ Practice time management: Do you ever wonder where the day went? Calendars, apps and to-do lists are all useful methods for keeping track of how you spend your time.

  • 🎖️ Define Clear Priorities: Identify what is most important both at work and in personal life, and organize your activities accordingly. For example, if spending time with family is a top priority, schedule family activities first before committing to work-related tasks. This helps to avoid overload and focus on what truly matters.

  • ✍️ Set Boundaries: Establish clear boundaries between work and personal life. For instance, turn off your work phone outside of office hours and dedicate specific time to activities that recharge your energy, such as hobbies, exercise, or quality time with family and friends.

  • 🧘‍♀️ Practice Self-Care: Take care of yourself both physically and mentally. Recharge is vital to help you succeed in what is important to you. Schedule regular time off to rest, relax, and recharge your batteries. For instance, schedule regular exercise sessions or mindfulness practices to prioritize your health and well-being.

  • ⚖️ Promote a Culture of Balance: As a leader, you have the power to influence organizational culture. Encourage a mindset that values the balance between work and personal life by leading by example. Recognize and reward your team's performance while also encouraging rest and leisure time.

  • 📅 Be Flexible: Recognize that the perfect balance may not always be static and can vary over time. Be open to adjusting your approach as needs and circumstances change. For example, if a team member is experiencing personal challenges, offer flexibility in their workload to support their well-being.

Benefits - Work to live, don’t live to work

Professional Life

Personal Life

  • Feeling more relaxed and energized.

  • More productive work is achieved, leading to great career success.

  • More fulfillment and satisfaction from work.

  • Improving relationship with family and friends.

  • Good physical and mental health.

  • More time to spend with your loved ones or for yourself.

🖼️ Image of the Week: Work and Fulfillment

📼 TEDTalks Every leader should watch

The RIGHT Way to Do Work-Life Balance | Simon Sinek

💡 Quote of the week:

Fulfillment comes from within; seeking it from outside sources is like expecting others to applaud your every step when you're the one walking the path. - Richelle E. Goodrich